Washington Association for Play Therapy

 Promoting the Healing Power of Play in Washington

The Association for Play Therapy advances play therapy, the means by which licensed mental health professionals use developmentally appropriate play-based treatments to better communicate with and help clients, particularly children.

As the Washington State Branch, we understand play is important for the development and well being of children who have a plethora of issues, including trauma, anxiety, depression and other mental health issues. We are dedicated to promoting the use of play therapy in the community to all children who could benefit from this treatment.

2019-2020 President's Letter of Intention

By Andrea Kunwald, MA, LMFT

From the Play Therapy Office of the WAAPT president:

I started my Play Therapy journey in my internship at a local community mental health agency. I will never forget how intimidated I was by the daunting idea of doing therapy with a five-year-old child who was described as a defiant little person. I was terrified. The only resource I had been given three weeks prior was a book called, Dibs: In Search of Self by Virginia M. Axline (1985). Reading it had made my heart pound with fascination and I had devoured this small book in a day and half. It quickly became my bible and theoretical guide in providing therapy to children.

However, books alone are not the only inspiration that have guided me in my journey. I could have not been as successful without the support of my RPT-Supervisor and a community of Play Therapists that stretches a great distance. I have greatly benefited from APT and our state branch here in Washington.

My goal is to build on the strong foundation my predecessors have laid:

  • ·       To make Play Therapy more visible in Washington State.
  • ·       To offer quality trainings.
  • ·       To strengthen the existing Play Therapy community by bringing Play Therapists together for consultation and network meetings.

I am looking forward to working with a board that consists of a very talented group of Play Therapists, who are passionate about children and the work they do. I would like to express my gratitude to my current board members for dedicating their time and efforts. Thanks to their work and our existing members, our branch is one of the fastest growing branches in the country.

I invite you to join and work together with us to promote Play Therapy in Washington. Please, feel free to connect with me or any board member to let us know if we can provide you the tools you need to do this.

I wish you Inspired Playing!

Andrea Kunwald

Past Presidents

2018-2019: Jill Forsberg, LMFT, RPT-S

2017-2018: Annie Merriman, LMHC, RPT

2016-2017: Elizabeth Peixoto, MS, LMHC

2015-2016: Cary M. Hamilton MA, LMHC, CMHS, RPT-S

2014-2015: Becky Rudd PhD, LMFT, LMHC, RPT-S, NCC

2013-2014: Rosie Newman, MA, LMHC, RPT

2012-2013: Sean Orpen 

2011- 2012: Amy Taylor

2010-2011: Gregory Oleson

2008-2010: Melissa Garthwaite

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software